Maven, Android And The Increasing Desire To Kill Myself

suicidal-robot

I’ve been struggling with reconciling my existing (previously working) Android project, MakingTracksGPS, with the new Maven-build friendly library structure, and it is a painful, painful process. One that doesn’t appear likely to be completed any time soon, either. I’ve hit a brick wall.

I made some really good progress in finally getting the Maven build to – apparently – work, but I don’t seem to be able to get it to run on the Samsung S3. I keep getting this error:

E/AndroidRuntime(24698): java.lang.RuntimeException: Unable to instantiate activity ComponentInfo{makingtracksgps.main/makingtracksgps.main.MakingTracksGPS}: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Didn't find class "makingtracksgps.main.MakingTracksGPS" on path: /data/app/makingtracksgps.main-1.apk
...
E/AndroidRuntime(24698): Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Didn't find class "makingtracksgps.main.MakingTracksGPS" on path: /data/app/makingtracksgps.main-1.apk

I have tried everything I can find on the internet to solve this, but nothing it making a difference. Feeling a lot more helpless that I can recently remember, at least in terms of programming prospects.

I’m determined to solve this, though, without throwing everything out and starting with Android Studio or something. One day I will install/upgrade to that, but not yet.

Anyway, I’m giving myself a number of weeks to do this. I know it’s an essentially simple task, but it’s fucking difficult, so I want to take the pressure off myself.

I will let you know if/when I succeed.

 
TRP

 

 

Leave a Reply

