Back Me Up

data-backup1

Having learned a painful lesson from losing my entire database(s) when 123-reg so rudely deleted my VPS, I have implemented a simple system for backing up all my live data from the new VPS.

I have set up cron jobs to run scripts on the remote VPS to back up each database at a specific time each day, and I have complimented this with a cron job/script on my home server to pull that data off at a specific time, daily.

It’s probably not the most robust backup system in existence but it does the job, and it only took me a few hours to sort out. It’s infinitely better than no backups at all anyway.

Now I will soon be free to crack on with MakingTracksGPS

 

TRP

Leave a Reply

