Balancing The Load

balancing-act1-720x380

I’ve implemented the first version of a load balancer, called GOTSLoadBalancer, that I’ll be using for (multiple instances of) GeeOhTileServer, and I’m pretty pleased with it.

It’s a SpringBoot app that catches all requests, queries which of the current selection of GeeOhTileServer services are least busy (based on an API which returns current ‘total requests per minute’), and forwards the request verbatim.

I’ve already got it running in production, with just a single instance (due to VM memory limitations), but I’m 100% happy with its function.

I’m definitely pleased to have addressed any worries regarding the scalability of GeeOhTileServer at this point.

 

TRP

Leave a Reply

