Buffer Required

bruce-buffer-ufc-fight-night-45

I’m looking to improve GrappleApp’s image sequence rendering by essentially pre-loading the images into memory and then rendering them quickly in sequence.

I’ve been spoilt by the Samsung Galaxy S3’s lighting fast load time from the file system. No other device has come close in terms of load-render-load-render-… performance (I remember being distinctly disappointed by GrappleApp’s showing on my HTC One).

Anyway, I’m undecided on the exact mechanism, and whether or not we begin to render the sequence before loading is actually complete, but I know it’s certainly possible and I’ve got confidence that I’ll come up with a neat solution.

Right now I’m just working on the pre-loading method.

*short break*

I’ve sorted the pre-loading method, and got most of the code sorted for playback now. It’s gone quite well (he says, jinxing himself), and I hope see much better performance from the Galaxy Tab later.

I’m just about to start work on an unobtrusive loading graphic to be shown when pre-loading opponents’ move sequences (which take a lot longer because of the need to invert the red/blue in the image).

Terrah.

 

TRP

Leave a Reply

