ElasticSearch and Solr

2897301-elastic_lad

Oh, I’ve started a new job by the way. I’ve waved goodbye to the best group of people I’ve ever worked with in Salford, and I’m starting afresh in Bromborough with another group of fine folks. My jobs have been getting consistently better over the years, and I hope this trend continues.

Anyway, I’ve been looking at ElasticSearch and Solr today – having spent the entire morning installing the latest Mac OS X update in order to be able to run Docker etc. etc. – for the purpose of understanding the current in-house implementation of Solr, with one eye on a possible migration to ElasticSearch.

It’s been hard going, to be honest. Combined difficulties of requiring to tinker with config files on the file system, whilst struggling the access the file system of running Docker images. Making small progress like.

Anyway, I’m just glad I’m diving back into Docker at last. It’s been a while and I should really have had this sorted by now.

Done.

 

TRP

Leave a Reply

