Relieving The Pressure

Geyser

I’ve been thinking about the quantity of storage required to support GeeOhTileServer – I suspect it will be creaking under pressure from day one in its current state – and I’m now exploring the idea of limiting MakingTracksGPS/GeeOh requests to a max. level 10, as opposed to 11.

This will reduce the number of required GridSquares by a factor of nine – in real terms, a reduction in total from 5380840 to 597871 for the fully recursive processing of a single square at zoom level 4.

In order to maintain some level of image clarity, ie. avoid excessive blockiness, I will investigate increasing image resolution from 800 x 800 to 1000 x 1000, keeping a careful eye on optimising storage so I don’t completely wipe out any gains I’ve made by cutting out level 11 completely.

It’s likely that I will have to reduce the maximum scale factor allowed by MakingTracksGPS, so the user can’t just zoom in to absolute block-world, but I should be able to get that balance right quite quickly.

Whilst I’m working on the server, I might as well revisit the colour scheme too. I shall take a look at toning down the default green background colour to something more grey, possibly, and look at changing the colour of the railways back to the original orange/yellow. I might even look at what the accepted standards suggest!

And I’m done.

 

TRP

Leave a Reply

